top of page

Girl

The theme given for this work was to be based on a book we had to read in our mid-year holiday in our second year of studies. The book I chose was “Waiting for the barbarians” by J.M Coetzee. I decided to illustrate what I thought the main female character might have looked like. I used ink washed and charcoal to create the dirty affect she was described having. A stylistic characteristic that I often use in my works is high contrast and working with dark images. I wanted the viewer to look in her eyes and get a sense of the pain she faced as well as her long journey. I was very intrigued with what Coetzee had written in the book, I found it extremely captivating and wanted to continuously read more. The female character was described as beautiful according to the main male character and that’s why I have portrayed her as a beautiful woman. I enjoy doing portraiture and is where I’ve found I’m most passionate and skilled in my works.

Recent Posts

  Tags  
No tags yet.
bottom of page